Deleting receipts

ThomasDalyThomasDaly Member Posts: 10

If I delete a receipt I've already entered (with status 'done'), does this automatically delete the transaction associated with it?

Tagged:

Comments

  • Laura_KavanaghLaura_Kavanagh Administrator Posts: 15 admin

    Hey @ThomasDaly - Yes, deleting a receipt with a status of done will automatically delete the associated transaction. Hope this helps!

  • ThomasDalyThomasDaly Member Posts: 10

    Thank you @Laura_Kavanagh . The question came up because I had filtered transactions on the transactions screen. When I deleted a receipt and then reloaded the (filtered) transactions screen, the transaction relating to the receipt was still there. Is it possible that there is a time lag between deleting a receipt and its associated transaction being deleted?

    edited January 18, 2019
  • ThomasDalyThomasDaly Member Posts: 10

    Hi @Laura_Kavanagh , what you said doesn't seem to be the case - I've deleted a receipt with status 'done' but the corresponding transaction is still there. When I open the transaction details I can still view the scanned image of the receipt that should have been deleted.

    edited January 26, 2019
  • JamieDJamieD Administrator Posts: 628 admin

    Hey @ThomasDaly. Once a transaction has been created in Wave, you will need to make sure that it's deleted from the transactions section itself so that it's no longer appearing or associated with your accounting.

  • ThomasDalyThomasDaly Member Posts: 10

    Hi @JamieD , so to be clear, deleting a receipt is a two-step process - 1) delete receipt from Purchases -> Receipts, and 2) delete associated transaction from Accounting -> Transactions?

  • Zoe_caffZoe_caff Administrator Posts: 232 admin

    @ThomasDaly said:
    Hi @JamieD , so to be clear, deleting a receipt is a two-step process - 1) delete receipt from Purchases -> Receipts, and 2) delete associated transaction from Accounting -> Transactions?

    Hey! If you are looking to delete both receipt and matching transaction, then your 2 steps above are correct. Just deleting the receipt, will not remove the transaction for the receipt also. I hope this clears things up! :smile:

  • GiroinGiroin Member Posts: 5

    Hi,

    I also noticed that deleting a receipt and then going to transactions you can still find the receipt as a file. It's still on the server. Is this normal?

    Thanks

  • GiroinGiroin Member Posts: 5

    Hi,

    I also noticed that deleting a receipt and then going to this specific transaction you can still find the receipt as a file. It's still on the server. Is this normal?

    Thanks
    G.

  • GiroinGiroin Member Posts: 5

    Hi,

    I also noticed that deleting a receipt and then going to this specific transaction you can still find the receipt as a file. It's still on the server. Is this normal?

    Thanks
    G.

Sign In or Register to comment.