How to Undo Deleted Transactions

Breakaway007Breakaway007 Member Posts: 2

Hi all,

I have an issue where somehow there are some transactions deleted. I have no idea how many was deleted and how far back. Is there a way to recover or UNDO deleted transactions. Our company uses a program and its actually impossible to delete transactions you can only archive them but there is always a trace of the transaction.

I have an issue where some clients are claiming they paid but the transactions are not showing up on their statements but it did show up in the bank statements. I just want to make sure the Wave matches the old Bank transactions 100%. The account has been active for over 3 years.

I really would appreciate some help

Comments

  • Michelle_AMichelle_A Administrator Posts: 45 admin

    Hi @Breakaway007- I am afraid I'm going to have to be the bearer of bad news here. To comply with laws designed to protect you and your information, when you delete your data, Wave is not permitted to keep this. Unfortunately, this information cannot be recovered. For now, I would recommend actioning a bank reconciliation to begin comparing what is in your Wave account vs your bank account to see what could be specifically missing. You will then have to manually recreate the missing transactions. Hopefully that can help get you started!

  • Breakaway007Breakaway007 Member Posts: 2

    Hi, I was afraid that would be the answer. In some other applications that i used you can archive transactions but never delete them, maybe something you can suggest to the development team.

    Thanks for getting back to me

  • andrew_versyy_comandrew_versyy_com Member Posts: 1

    seems that competitive apps like Xero don't delete the transaction, but rather archive it allowing for a restore

  • JashJash Member Posts: 2

    I was trying to duplicate a transaction and simply deleted it. There should at least be a warning saying you are about to delete, etc.

  • EmmaPEmmaP Administrator Posts: 299 admin

    Hi @Jash! Thanks for your feedback on this. There is a warning when you delete a transaction from the main transaction page, but no warning when you click the trash can icon beside 'duplicate transaction'. I agree with you that there should be an extra warning here! I'd be happy to pass your feedback on.

  • JashJash Member Posts: 2

    Thank you, Emma. Those buttons are very close together. I hope you will find a way to separate them in the future.

Sign In or Register to comment.